I Keep a List of Things to Do When Bored (You Should Too)

I no longer mind the waiting room.

Corey Fradin

--

“Take a seat. It’ll be just a few minutes.”

You find a spot along an adjacent wall and sit down. Littered on the coffee table are an assortment of dated magazines. Why do all doctors’ offices look the same? You think about picking one up but decide against it.

Too many germs.

Your Time in the Waiting Room

The receptionist said it would be a few minutes, but a few minutes has quickly turned into a half-hour. And having finished scrolling through social media about 15 minutes ago, you now find yourself incredibly bored.

I should use this as an opportunity to practice observing things. So you look around the room, taking in the smell of the worn carpet, noticing the brown walls, the fluorescent lights. That kills about four minutes. Now what?

There’s definitely something I could be doing… but what?

Let me try meditating. Breathe in, breathe out. Breathe in, breathe out. Your calm quickly sours though when you overhear an elderly woman yelling at the reception staff. Every time!

I guess daydreaming won’t work in this case either.

--

--